Apply for the Bridget Jones Award



Arts researchers or practitioners living and working in the Caribbean are eligible to apply for the Bridget Jones Travel Award, the deadline for which is the 18th January 2019. The winner of the award will present their work at the 43rd Annual Conference of the Society for Caribbean Studies, The Institute for Black Atlantic Research (IBAR) at the University of Central Lancashire in Preston, July 3-5, 2019.


If you are an arts practitioner living and working in any region of the Anglophone, Hispanic, Francophone or Dutch speaking Caribbean, you may apply for the Award. The successful recipient will receive £650 towards travel expenses and, in addition, a full bursary to cover conference fees and accommodation. Applications are especially welcome from individuals with no institutional affiliations. We encourage applications from across the arts: from visual artists, performers, creative writers, film-makers, folklorists, playwrights etc.

Work by former award recipient, Kishan Munroe.

How to Apply

To apply for the Award you must submit the following:

A covering letter

Curriculum vitae (no more than 4 sides of A4)

Statements from 2 referees who are able to comment on your work

AND either

(a) A proposal for a presentation of your work in the areas of film, literature, visual or performing arts.
(b) A proposal for a reading of original creative work.

Presentations normally last for up to one hour, including time for questions from the audience. The most important part of your application will therefore be a 1) full description of the proposed presentation detailing the themes and rationale behind the presentation, as well as 2) how the presentation will be organized and 3) any props required (e.g. if intending to screen clips of films; show slides of artwork; incorporate live performance etc.).

The successful candidate would be expected to attend the whole conference.
Applications and enquiries should be sent by e-mail to Audley Chambers at [email protected]

Completed applications must be received by 18th January 2019. A decision will be made by the committee in early February.

For more information on the Bridget Jones Travel Award and the Society for Caribbean Studies, visit the Society website….